Anyone under the age of 18 years old MUST TAKE A CERTIFIED DRIVER’S EDUCATION COURSE in order to obtain a license and be able to drive in the State of Illinois.
A driver’s license is issued to anyone who is at least 16 years old, with a Social Security number, and who has successfully completed a professional drivers education course.
This requirement can be met by completing the first phase of this course offered here at Saint Patrick High School when the student is at least 15 years old at the time he is taking the course. There are two phases to the driver’s education course:
Phase 1: Classroom Instruction
Students must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction, taught here at Saint Patrick over the course of a four week class.
A. The following sessions will be available:
Session I (Monday, September 8 to Thursday, October 9 from 2:45 to 4:15 PM.)
Classes will meet from Monday to Thursday. There will be NO class on Friday.
Session II (Wednesday, October 15 to Thursday, November 20 from 2:45 to 4:15 PM)
Classes will meet on Wednesday, October 15, Thursday, October 16, Wednesday, October 22, Thursday, October 23 and then Monday to Thursday the weeks of October 27, November 3, November 10, and November 17
Session III (Monday, January 12 to Friday, February 31)
Classes will meet as follows:
– Monday, January 12 to Thursday, January 15
– Tuesday, January 20 to Thursday, January 22
– Monday, January 26 to Thursday, January 29
– Tuesday, February 3 to Friday, February 6
– Monday, February 9 to Friday, February 13
Note: There will be one additional session that will run later in the spring and there will be sessions during the summer as well. Those dates will be determined shortly. When they have been determined, they will be posted here, and an email will be sent notifying families of the dates available.
B. There is a $85.00 charge for Saint Patrick students for the course, and payment can be done using the link provided when you have completed the registration process. Payment can also be made by check payable to Saint Patrick High School. Payment must be received prior to the course start date.
C. All rules and regulations will be explained to the student once he begins the course.
D. Only ONE absence is allowed during the course as more than one absence will not fulfill the contact hours that are required by the State of Illinois. This cannot be waived for vacation plans.
Phase 2: Driving Range (At Taft High School)
A. There is a charge for this course payable to Taft High School.
B. Upon successful completion of the classroom portion, students will be scheduled for their range course at Taft High School.
C. Supervised behind the wheel training outside of the driver’s education course is also required. A parent/guardian or adult over the age of 21 who has a valid license for at least one year must supervise the student.
D. A permit is valid for two years and must be held for at least NINE months before a driver’s license is issued.
Any student who is 15 years old at the time of the course is eligible to take driver’s education. Payment must be received prior to the first day of class.
Classes will be limited to 25 students. Enrollment will be taken on a first-come-first-served basis. You will receive an email confirming your registration and session dates when the registration has been processed through the Main Office.
If you have any questions regarding registering for the course, please see Mr. Perez. If you have any questions about the requirements, please see Mr. McGovern.